Fortunately quarrying and mining became so profitable that in approximately 1859 a railway was built to bring out the copper and slate. Coniston became a popular tourist location when this railway was opened to passengers. Sadly, this line was then closed around 1964. However, the creation of the National Park in the 1950s helped to boost tourism by having attractions like The Ruskin Museum, and at this stage the passenger ferry service across the lake had just started to develop.
Today the picturesque village of Coniston has remained a popular tourist location with a large variety of accommodation and attractions on offer, as well as a popular area for hill walking and rock climbing.